How Can?

Being gay, I think we all understand the pretense of being stigmatized and being judged. It’s all a facade. So why are we still so liberal with doing so? It absolutely perplexes me.

I make myself sound like i’m perfect, but of course, judging is what humans do, and I unfortunately and am human also. I browse through online profiles and I come across people who so pristinely fit into select archetypes in my mind, “sad emo kid who cries about not getting laid and having no guys liking him”, “steroid consuming so-straight-I’m-gay dude”, “I’m Britney, bitch (or some uglier sluttier gay version that also can’t dance or sing)” or some other chip off the block.

The worst part about these people are they are in fact people. They’re more than their profiles, their blogs, or their pictures – they. are. people. Everybody, I am sure, is guilty of passing some subjective judgment based off of inconclusive material. Which is why I find the internet so disheartening. You can chat with someone for a year thinking he’s amaaaazing, and then meet him in person and realize he isn’t. We aren’t who we photograph, we aren’t who we write, and we aren’t who we read. Online, we are so much less than that. I am certain that i’ve snubbed somebody more than a dozen times online in the most jackasstastic way possible (and I can vouch ditto right back at me), but in reality, if maybe we had met first off in person, we would have been best friends. So as much as the Internet presents opportunities for us to network, meet new people, make friends, it is also just as good for crushing potentials, bending hearts, and making enemies. Unless you are one of the few that has so much extra time on his hands to respond to every message with the utmost care, consideration, and sensitivity, to portray the most holistic representation possible. I unfortunately am not one of the few.

Which brings me back to why I’m not online much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment